top of page

Tacoma Community College Photography Classes

For those of you who follow me on Facebook, you probably know I teach for Tacoma Community College as a continuing education instructor. For the past few years, I've been teaching sewing, soapmaking, knitting and a few cooking classes. Well, this year, I was asked to take over the digital photography classes for the Gig Harbor campus! Woooo! Classes started last week, and they are GREAT. I love my students. They're sooooo new, but really enthusiastic. It's only the first week and they've already taken some fantastic images! If you'd like to see what they're up to, check out our class Flickr pool.

I'm trying to follow along with their assignments, just to keep myself in practice. If you'd like to follow along at home, I'll be posting my weekly slideshows on the blog here. It's nto the same as having me there in class to answer your questions, but you can post here, too!

For my students- homework this week is working with depth of field. I need two images with a shallow depth of field, two images with a deep depth of field.

Remember, depth of field is controlled by aperture. A small number (F2, F4, etc) is a LARGE aperture. Large aperture gives you a shallow depth of field. A large number (F16, F22) is a SMALL aperture, which gives you a deep depth of field.

The order to work in is so:

1. Set your ISO. 200 is a good place to start when shooting outdoors.

2. Set your aperture for the depth of field you want.

3. Adjust for proper exposure by changing your shutter speed. You want the light meter in the camera to hover around the zero. It will move as you move the camera around, so don't stress about keeping RIGHT ON there. Just within a bar or so.

4. Add your images to our Flickr pool!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page